Font Size





Menu Style


Our history

in: About us

The Faculty of Medicine, Srinakharinwirot University was established June 16th, 1985 to tackle physician shortages in Thailand. The project was initiated as a joint venture between Srinakharinwirot University and the Bangkok Metropolitan Administration to use existing manpower, equipment and organization in order to utilize existing resources effectively.

The desire to found a new medical school at Srinakharinwirot University to alleviate the lack of medical doctors in Thailand started in 1980 (B.E. 2523). Work began towards establishing a new faculty with the goal of producing doctors to serve and provide medical services in underserved areas. In 1984 (B.E. 2527), the Royal Thai Government approved the establishment of the Faculty of Medicine, Srinakharinwirot University and an announcement was published in the Royal Gazette vol. 102 section 76 on 16 June 1985 (B.E. 2528). The faculty became the 9th medical school established in Thailand and the first group of students matriculated in the academic year of 1985. As of 2014, the faculty had received its 30th class of medical students.

In the period between 1985 and 2000, preclinical studies were provided at Srinakharinwirot University, Prasarnmitr campus while clinical studies were provided in cooperation with Vajira Hospital. After 2000, clinical studies were provided at HRH Princess Maha Chakri Sirindhorn Medical Center at Srinakharinwirot University, Ongkharak campus, Nakhon Nayok province.

HRH Princess Maha Chakri Sirindhorn Medical Center is a 500-bed hospital under the supervision of the Faculty of Medicine, Srinakharinwirot University. The hospital finished construction on 3 June 1999 (B.E. 2542) and began full operations in December 1999. HRH Princess Maha Chakri Sirindhorn Medical Center was built to provide clinical education to students and postgraduates, quality medical services to the general public, clinical research, and educational services to the community.

Since 10 March 2014, the current dean of the Faculty of Medicine, Srinakharinwirot University is Professor Chairat Neruntarat, with Assistant Professor Weerasak Charaschaisri as the director of HRH Princess Maha Chakri Sirindhorn Medical Center.


Faculty of Medicine


Phone: (662) 260-2122-4, 260-2233-5, 260-2950-3
Fax (662) 260-0125



Since its establishment in 1985, the Faculty of Medicine has played a major role in alleviating the shortage of physicians in Thailand. The Faculty guarantees the quality of its graduates by closely monitoring and meeting international quality assurance standards and by implementing internationally recognized assessment procedures. The Faculty of Medicine also trains doctors in the administrative skills needed for the efficient delivery of quality health care, and carries out applied research that continuously improves the nature of that health care.


The Princess Maha Chakri Sirindhorn Medical Center Internment Anatomy

medicine3 medicine2 medicine1


The Faculty has seventeen departments: Medicine, Surgery, Pediatrics, Radiology, Anesthesiology, Orthopedics, Gynecology, Psychiatry, Otolaryngology, Preventive Medicine, Pathology, Forensics, Anatomy, Biochemistry, Microbiology, Pharmacology, and Physiology. In addition, the Faculty cooperates with the University of Nottingham in England on a special program, in which students attend basic medical courses at Nottingham to obtain a Bachelor of Medical Science (B.Med.Sci.) degree, then study clinical subjects at the Faculty of Medicine to earn a Doctor of Medicine (M.D.) degree from Srinakharinwirot University.




Doctor of Mediicine (M.D.)


Doctor of Medicine (M.D., International Program)


Doctor of Medicine (Joint Program), B.Med.Sci (University of Nottingham), M.D. (Srinakharinwirot University)


Master of Sciences in Biomedical Sciences (M.Sc.), Biomedical Sciences


Master of Science in Molecular Biology (M.Sc.), Molecular Biology


Master of Science in Dermatology (M.Sc.), Dermatology


Master of Science in Occupational Medicine (M.Sc.), Occupational Medicine


Doctor of Philosophy in Biomedical Sciences (Ph.D.), Biomedical Sciences


Doctor of Philosophy in Molecular Biology (Ph.D.), Molecular Biology

Related items (by tag)


university of nottinghamjoint md programmeUSF

Connect with us

       icon yt